We Think – Mass Production Utopia

September 25, 2008

I just saw the speech of Charles Leadbeater at the Picnic Conference in Amsterdam. I`ve seen him speak before, so his speech  was not really “groundbreaking”, nothing new for me…  , but cause he mentioned it today, I watched his promotion video for his book again (see above, 4min). For all of you who haven`t seen it yet, give it a try.

When you watch the video,  your first “reflex” might be… ok…thanks… I heard this before… boring… (besides the really nice illustration and presentation), this sounds like utopia et cetera … or whatever else you might have thought… and I thought so too, but after a while I started thinking, ok, actually he is right. This is a fact. It`s not mainstream yet, well my mother doesn`t even know what Wikipedia is, but it`s a fact. It`s happening and there should be huge potential for the media industry. There must be more than just a “pop idol” telephone vote, or a user generated advertising spot that is shown during the super bowl break, or a nonsense dancing video that is clicked 100 million times, or a social network…
I think there is still much more… and the media industry is not using it yet.

Sorry for sounding like a utopian… Just a thought…

Leave a Reply

